Eventful day!

Lots going on, but all resolved with happy conclusions, so no need for anyone to panic. I decided I couldn't let the opportunity to photograph an ambulance on the drive pass me by!

Ours and mums households were up quite early. Bruce plus 2 headed off to Ware at 7am. There was a football match for Hayden at 10. Jon and Henry left at 7.45 with the trailer hooked up and car very full of all the bushcraft gear. They had a busy and enjoyable day making whistles and cooking marshmallows and bannock bread, despite the wet and very windy weather. Gressenhall is always a popular visitor attraction, so when something extra is being held there like today's Apple Day, even poor weather doesn't keep them away.

Manda and Cam got themselves together to leave around lunchtime, and I took the dog for a walk. That's where I picked these humungous radishes. Some are a tiny bit woody, but edible and hot! (I also picked 3 raspberries)

After lunch I took Mollie to her friends for the afternoon then came home to do some jobs, or relax. I prepared veg for dinner, and cleaned and trimmed the radishes. Then had a visit from mum who was worried about dad. After a few phone calls, a visit from two very nice paramedics, followed by the district nurse, dad was sorted out with a new catheter and no visit to a&e. A worrying afternoon, but thankfully a happy ending.

I cooked the roast which we have now devoured, and at last time to sit down! It seems like the first time today!

Tha last photo is Manda with the (belated) birthday present I had kept for her. For those who didn't grow up in the 1970s she is Tippy Tumbles. A doll who, as her name suggests, could do headstands, and tumble over to sitting. Manda had the doll as a 5 or 6 year old. She really wanted a Tiny Tears (like I had) and although none of us can recall the exact circumstances, poor Tippy got a broken leg, and never tumbled. Manda was actually thrilled with it. I don't often get presents right, but I did with this. We had a lot of laughs yesterday getting her to tumble. I'm going to put the video I took this morning on Facebook!

Another good weekend, gone all too quickly!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.