An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Station Road...

I was hoping the trees would be further advanced in their autumn colour but sadly not.  

Last year the strong winds in October robbed the trees of their leaves before they'd had the chance to show off all the lovely oranges and golds I've seen them display in previous years, and I fear the may happen again this year.

We visited John today.  He had a replacement knee operation last Wednesday and this is the first chance I've had to visit although I've been in close contact via the phone.  He's had a rough time.  

Op on Wednesday, home on Friday with a badly leaking wound with no physiotherapy follow up, and the advice if the leaking wound got worse he should go to A&E.  He ended up at A&E on Friday night (got there via taxi.  We gave him a big row for not phoning us!) and sent back home Saturday with a new dressing and a wound that's still leaking (although not as bad.)  The also sent him home with a leg brace to immobilise his leg.  The very worst thing that could happen.  It's crucial he begins exercising the knee joint as soon as possible!  I've left him strict instructions to phone his GP in the morning for advice and to try and arrange a visit from the GP to check his would and to arrange physio.

Shocking treatment of an 83 year old and way short of what I would expect from our NHS.  I had a partial knee replacement 9 years ago and was in hospital for 9 days with physio everyday.  I wasn't allowed home til the physio was sure I could tackle stairs (even though we lived in a bungalow at the time!)  

We stopped at M&S on the way to pick up food for lunches and dinners to last him and Norma till Thursday.  He's seeing his consultant on Friday and I hope he will let him know exactly how unhappy he is with what's happened.  Just as well he is so robust and otherwise in good shape for his age.  Someone frailer or with no support at home wouldn't stand a chance.

Home for dinner of lamb, Dauphinoise potatoes, peas and broccoli followed by Strictly results then planning the week ahead.  It's busy but fun.  Lots of enjoyable get togethers :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.