Resolutions

By RonRagsdale

New Eyes

I finally got my new glasses last week, and as today is Mono Monday, and the theme being reflections, I thought I'd play around with my new and old frames in contrast. As you can see on the left, the old frames were broken (but only, I must add, after 22 years of wear and tear!)  

I wanted to have new frames that were just like the old ones, and our local opticians (Linton has everything!) tried, in vain, to order them from their standard suppliers. First try, they weren't properly round. Second try, they had the wrong type of bridge (I hate nose pads). So, they said we could go "hand made". Gulp!

But, in the end, the new frames are so close to identical to the old ones, it's not worth quibbling. They are made by the Algha Works, which I learned online, used to be the makers of all NHS frames back in the day. Now they only do bespoke frames. In fact, they made John Lennon's, Mahatma Gandhi's and Harry Potter's! They still use the same machines that were used in the 1920s. https://spitalfieldslife.com/2016/07/31/save-the-algha-spectacle-works/

I'm very pleased with them, apart from the fact that my varifocals are not quite right for the middle-screen-distance in the left eye (the one that's developed PVD), so I think I need to go back and get a new lens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.