The big pot

This is the final resting place of the big pot. Empty it weighs a ton, full of potting mix I have no show of moving it. It has a paver base that's been cemented in.

I've planted a wonderfully angular Australian version of a manuka (leptospermum mesmer eyes). It's looking rather twiggy and sad as it didn't appreciate waiting months to be planted. I'm not sure that it will make a comeback. Maybe, there are some signs of new buds but they're in no hurry.

Two of the 3 phormiums I planted in the weekend are at the base of the pot. Unfortunately at this angle the ground looks like endless brown bark mulch. Bottom right is a glimpse of a ground cover Leptonella platts black. There are a lot of them dotted around and in another 6 - 12 months they should cover most of the bark mulch with soft ferny good looks.

The tree is wine berry or Makomako (aristotelia serrata). I like the green against the texture of the pot. The leaves sometimes have a rose tinge to them. They do have bird and bee attracting flowers and berries. I'm not sure if I need a male and female tree to get berries.

In the background is a glimpse of one of the 2 feijoas tucked in behind the wind cloth. Behind that is my majestic cloud tree. And behind that are glimpses of the blue totara hedge on the inside of the fence.

Today's gratitude: For good focus and progress at work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.