Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

Yet another Harbour shot

After yesterday's nice wander on the beach before work, I decided to yet again catch the early bus. It's nice to have 5 minutes to blow the cobwebs away and get some oxygen back in the system after a stuffy ride on the bus.

I'm still struggling slightly with the low light at that time of day but that should improve as time goes on. I've also found a nice woodland park near work that I can wander in at lunchtimes for a stretch of the legs and a play with the camera.

This morning however I regretted not bringing my Lumix with the bigger zoom. The area was full of little pink legged wading birds and Oyster Catchers. It wasn't the best shot of the day but I was mildly impressed with myself for tracking this one as it took flight and managing to get a not too bad shot of it. I suppose if I'd had the bigger zoom I'd have lost it as I tracked so there are some advantages.

I got out of work at lunchtime to do research from home. Research in this case involved looking at photographs by my favourite photographers and choosing some interesting shots for the young people in our photography group to discuss (did I mention I love my job). I also need to find some great local photographers (preferably self taught and/or doing it for a living) who might be willing to come in and talk to them about photography and how they got in to it. We're trying to broaden their horizons on things they can do with their lives, jobs outside of the usual category they look in etc. Hmmm... maybe I could find someone from blip?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.