Moth

This moth on the door to the porch provided a last minute picture on yet another day when very few pictures were taken and none of them were any good.

Not enough hours in the day. Perhaps it has something to do with the days getting shorter. I keep thinking I’ve done all the time consuming things on my pillow project and I can just sit and sew in the evening, but I’m still not quite there. But I have convinced myself that I have figured out how to do it, and that it will look the way I want it to.

Sometimes I feel like I have forgotten more than I ever knew. On the other hand, today was our last A/I and Ethics class, and it was great!  Lots of discussion on consciousness, free will and moral agency and whether any of those things can be taught to a machine. And if so, how? And what happens if a machine starts learning from itself (strong A/I) or another machine?

You know the s**it is going to hit the fan when the military starts calling in philosophers
-John Sullins

Professor John Sullins is a philosopher and has just returned from an International conference in Berlin where the participants grappled with establishing a code of ethics before the autonomous part of the equation outstrips the ethical part. Autonomous vehicles are very close to the danger zone in which there is a high degree of autonomy without a corresponding degree of ethical sensitivity.

The class included a guest appearance from SusanSchneider     another participant from the conference who has just published a book called Artificial You: A/I and the future of your mind....

When we walked out of class my friend Fran said, “I could take that whole class again” and OilMan said, “I feel like going home and watching Bugs Bunny cartoons.”

Instead we took Fran home and found her husband Roy sitting on the porch with David, our contractor, friend and neighbor. Roy is just finishing a novel featuring A/I, and David can talk intelligently about anything, so beers were produced and a rousing discussion followed.

It was my kind of day....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.