The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Busy, busy street

The work on the house next door continues. First a big lorry full of insulation material arrived and parked outside. Then it was moved further down street, and packets of material were forklifted along the street to the garden. A few standoffs developed between delivery vans, large lorries and the usual light traffic.

Next lorry was the scaffolders'. These guys are West Country boys. I think the most of the builders are Polish, but my Polish isn't good enough to tell. More scaffolding has been erected, and the builders are back on the 'verandahs' outside the first floor bedrooms.

The 'grey matter' (technical term, but not for building!) went on to the brickwork yesterday. I suppose the render is next. I thought the cavity wall insulation had been done in June or July, so I'm not sure where the stuff in the red lorry fits in.

I've done all the housework (we have a visitor arriving later, and Steve will be back tomorrow) and now I'm lying in the bath listening to Blur's Common People, pretending that I can't hear the noise of living on a building site.

I just wish 'my' little boys from nursery could be here to see all the lorries coming and going! They'd be in heaven! I've found some cardboard packaging to take into nursery, because they currently absorbed in building shelters from cardboard and tarpaulins, and decorating the insides with chalk 'graffitti'. Survival skills?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.