Capital adventures

By marchmont

Harbour

It was another dreich, dank morning, not cold but very damp.  I drove up the coast to Seahouses but I didn't stop as work was being done on the Harbour and it was wet!  Onward north past Bamburgh to Lindisfarne.  I think I was last there on my honeymoon, nearly 42 years ago.  I remember being at the causeway but I can't remember being on the island.  maybe I wasn't.

But I was today.  Had a good look round visiting the beautiful wee church and taking a walk up the hill behind the Priory to look back to the south. Had lunch in a pub.  Not sure I really enjoyed the fish 'n chips.  And totally unrelated there were lots of dogs, dogs everywhere on the island.  After a sample of spiced mead it was a power walk in the drizzle out to the Gertrude Jekyll garden but it was being put to bed for winter so not a lot to see.  Then back, in good time, to the mainland before the causeway closed.

Next stop was Eyemouth.  The harbour was busy but the rest of the town seemed dead.  But not as dead as my 2 x great grandfather, Henry Turnbull, who drowned aged 40 in Eyemouth Harbour in 1876.  My theory, he staggered out of the pub and fell in. But the weather brightened after I'd visited the Museum and that brought out the reflection in the water.

A very sunny drive back via Coldingham, St Abbs and then the A1. The low sun was really difficult to drive in.

Finished the day with choir.  Much singing of 'Jingle Bells'.

It was a good break.  I felt really happy to be driving around open countryside, trees, fields, cows, sheep and lovely views. I think I'll have to go back to Northumberland.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.