Friday Foto

By drmackem

Hare Head

Had a meeting in town today, so having had the heads up from Sgwarnog that there was a Sophie Ryder exhibition on at Cartwright Hall, I took 30mins for a wander around the exhibition and to grab a few photos.

The blipped photo is a wire sculpture, I don't recall seeing any of these before, and I like the texture that it gives the work. Indoors there were two more one dimensional wire works one of a hand another of an eye that were particularly impressive. I'm not sure if I really like these sculptures, the classical Ryder is the hare or the minator with a human body. They certainly engage, interestingly seeing the two more relationally as in this image felt more accessible.

A pleasant 30mins, and I'm slightly ashamed to admit despite previuosly for 14 years living a little over a mile away, I've never been to Cartwright Hall, which seems to have some interesting art on show today - I'll return before I'm 100.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.