Kipsie

By Kipsie

Oh, I do like to be beside the seaside

& that's where Yogi & I went exploring this afternoon. We headed down onto the beach, the tide was far enough out for us to walk all the way into Shaldon. I'd not walked this piece of shoreline before so we were both having an adventure. Yogi has a penchant for small crabs, a fact I was unaware of but he ate them all the way into the village, again on the way back. I just hope it does'nt have any adverse affects as I've got to leave him for a couple of hours before his mum & dad get back tonight. Small oysters  visible on the beach, I snapped them and sent a FB link to my Thai friend, Sopha. Last time she was over she stayed just along the road from here, and was in her element harvesting them from the beach. Mum & I were invited down & treated to oyster omelets for breakfast .. not something I want to repeat in a hurry. Sopha loved them. Yogi & I  managed to find our way under the bridge and across the river bed without me getting my feet wet. The skies darkened, so we started heading back. He was having so much fun on the beach I thought it would easier to walk back the beach than negotiate traffic on the narrow lanes. A huge rainbow was stretching from one side of the river to the other. The second rainbow I saw today. Two ships were being loaded with clay on Teignmouth docks.We got back down onto the beach and returned, going on past where we first got down onto the beach eventually coming out at Coombe Cellars. This part of coastline is the last section of the Templar Way. A 18mile walk that begins up on Haytor at the disused granite quarry, and follows the route  the granite would have been transported by the Haytor Granite Tramway & Stover Canal to the port at Teignmouth. We walked the road back home, a quick hose down for Yogi. There's a super duper large property being built down on the waters edge along the stretch between Coombe Cellars and base. The name of the property set in teh wall at the top of the drive. 'Bellosguardo' .. I had to Google it out of curiosity.  Bello means "beautiful or pretty". Sguardo means "view, landscape". Well, it's certainly in an enviable location. I would love to have a property on this estuary. We just got back for it rained .. perfect timing.
Lots of textures everywhere during our walk, shells, seaweed, feathers, water. I found a few bits on the beach to fill my pockets. 2 pieces of blue & white china, 1 willow pattern, the other more abstract. A rusty screw. A piece of wood. Oh! and surprise, surprise, some bits of plastic. I picked up 3 plastic beakers that had been discarded on the beach when we went down. Why could'nt they have been put in a bin????

Yogi and I had an early spin around Hearn field while the bedding & towels were being washed. I did two loads of washing, got them dry, folded & ironed. Cleaned through the house. The Dyson ran out of battery quite quickly so while that was recharging I cleaned my bathroom, & the shower room where I'd given Yogi a shampoo earlier in my stay. Picked up a few windfall apples to go with my blackberries. Dyson recharged I fitted the short attachment to do the stairs .. A great gadget. Expensive, Dyson, but it's very efficient. Packed some of my stuff, met hubby at Morrison's, had a coffee, did a bit of shopping, transferred my stuff into his car so that I don't need to unload later when I get home.
Karen has just text me to say they've boarded, they should be home about midnight so I shall leave at 10pm.

Dishes to do, collect up all my stuff, load the car. Right i'd better get my act together.

Thanks to ingeborg for hosting Abstract Thursday , & the additional  challenge - Textures

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.