flavia13

By flavia13

THE SUN HAS GOT HIS HAT ON......

Lovely day today.  After being indoors since our return from York I wanted to go out today.  So after Hubby had a check up at the dentist early, all good, we decided to go out. 

He wanted to go somewhere where he could have a bacon buttie as a sort of Brunch or early lunch, so I thought we'd go to the Lingholm Kitchens and then for a walk through the woods to the shores of Derwentwater.  My reasoning was the food is good and relatively healthy, granary sourdough bread and the bacon is grilled (or griddled) not fried.  He did enjoy it very much.

We drove up via Ambleside, Rydal Water, Grasmere and Thirlmere.  Everything looking stunning with low lying cloud beginning to lift.

On arrival we went for his Bacon Buttie, well I had one to but could  only manage half, as they're not small (I hadn't realised that, otherwise I would have gone for something else).

We then went on down to their own jettie, just to see the views and then went for a lovely gentle walk through the woods and up to the shores of Derwentwater as said.  There were quite a lot of people around, which amazed me, however the staff at Lingholm said it was quieter there today that it had been!!!  Quite a few children too, I thought half term wasn't until Halloween week.  On the way back we came across a large group of very noisy walkers, glad they were going the other way.  Very nice but very loud.

Anyway it was a really lovely walk and the sun shone all day.  went through a shower on the M6 on the way home but that was all.

I wasn't sure which picture to put up so I chose this one as I was pleased that I had managed to get a sunburst and it's reflection in the lake.  I've added a couple of extras too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.