Cumbrialass

By Cumbrialass

A day for memories

A beautiful sunny day just as it was 40 years ago today. 
I remember it well as it was the day my brother got married... and the day my father died. A horrifically surreal day. It was too late to cancel the wedding and so there we were hollow eyed and shell shocked  alongside the brides family who were happy and chatty.  The shock and disbelief carried us through what should have been such a happy day . I think we were all in mental denial . It was only when I got back home that the reality really hit me. 

It is now almost a shock to realise it is 40 years ago. I was only in  my 20s and now I am much older than my dad was when he died
The memories of my father are still strong  but I wish had more photos  of him.  This is the only clear one I have of him (extras) it was a photo of him that appeared in an article about the shipyard,  in the Telegraph Sunday supplement some time about 1965. 

It seemed a good time to go through the photos I have on my computer.. these go back to 2011 , I also still have my old laptop.. which  has photos on there too. Suddenly all those photos seem so precious . So this afternoon I decided to do some back ups of all my photos.. onto my external hard drive and onto the Cloud . The last few years my photos have been backed up on Google photos but not the earlier years. 

So I have begun. It doesn't take too long to upload the files .. but I realised I hadn't saved them in a very organised order. A mish mash of files.. ( eg instead of one file for one holiday there seems to be several files ..) so it's going to take a while.. and I've decided to edit them too , remove the dull uninteresting photos.. and keep the ones I do like and those that spark off some good memories.
My lap top screen saver is set to show random photos in a slide show.. I left it on as I cooked dinner and it was good to see them.

I'm glad I've joined Blip foto.. one photo a day doesn't seem a lot but already I'm building up a bank of memories.

I was so busy editing I almost forgot to take a blip. But looking out of the window I saw the sky had gone a wonderful pink colour. So my blip is of the sky at sunset from my kitchen doorway. 
You can't beat a good sunset for uplifting the spirits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.