CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Bagpath bridge over the newly resurrected canal

I needed some exercise and a change of scene so while Helena was away working I drove along the valley towards Brimscombe. I turned off the main road and parked on the edge of an industrial estate built between the river Frome and the Thames and Severn canal. I knew there was a small footpath between the industrial units, in fact an a very ancient pathway leading across the Golden Valley.

When the canal was built in the late 18th century various ancient crossings were enabled with bridges of varying styles. Bagpath bridge has been reconditioned but still has a cobbled surface and is just wide enough for a horse and cart. The path still leads south up the hillside through the tiny area called Bagpath and onwards to the ancient commons at Rodborough and Minchinhampton several hundred feet higher.

It was late in the afternoon and the sun was just setting over the hilltop. Since the canal has been brought back to life with massive investment of time and local peoples' energy, this stretch marks the eastbound end of the navigable canal, until the redevelopment of Brimscombe Port, which is currently being designed and planned for.

I once saw a lovely picture online of a foggy but sunny wintry view of this bridge by Keith, H., a local photographer. I got in touch with him and we became friends. Not long after that whilst sipping a pint, he mentioned Blipfoto to me, which he had recently joined in 2010 (and I subsequently joined as well). I'm delighted to say that DailyKeith has just commented on a recent blip of mine, even though he is only an occasional blipper these days. This link to him shows a photo of me back then in 2010! Keith and his wife D., very kindly invited me to stay with them in Malaga early this year which was delightful, and I think it is worth thanking them once again here. Cheers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.