Pink

I've been on the sick list today - a victim of mild food poisoning. I suspect my own cooking is the cause. It might just be an overdose of fruit and veg, or even just my digestive system showing its age. Who knows. 

The end result was a lot of missed sleep as well as the rest of it. 

Once my equilibrium returned - just before lunchtime - I put the free time to good use and (gently) got quite a few chores dealt with. 

Staying away from Twitter and news sources was important. 

I realised today the importance of the mutual support which my colleagues  and I share in the Office. I take it for granted how we all spit bullets at high speed when certain topics (Brexit, London, Tories) come up. It was something I hoped for when I took the job, and I missed it today.

The Office offers distraction therapy too, of course, taking my attention away from the wider world and onto the day to day problems faced by the constituents who come to see us. 

Ah yes, my annual pink rose Blip. Because the plant is close to a south facing wall, I still get flowers at this time of year. A simple pleasure on a grey, October day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.