flavia13

By flavia13

A GRAND DAY OUT

Whenever I plan a trip to Ulverston with my Scottish friend G I always sing "Ulverston oh Ulverston", like the Glen Campbell son Galveston!!!

Anyway this time it was a meet up with my lovely friend Kath and her dog Fletch.  It was a very belated collaboration meeting as per last month's EDPS homework.  We did do some collaboration, ie; deciding we wanted to mainly architecture with a bit of street photography as that would be pushing us both.  We also consulted on a couple of points, but mostly to be honest we just did a lot chatting and looking out for Fletch.

The weather was glorious for mid October, but cast lots of shadows for photography.  

We parked up at The Gill, which I'd never been to before and Kath showed me a lovely walk from there which I will do with Hubby as soon as I can.

We had a lovely walk around the town, which was fairly quiet because we'd both forgotten that was half day!!!   We went for a short stroll along by the river, mainly for Fletch and then went for a nice lunch at The Hot Mango cafe.

After we'd said goodbye I popped into Grange, to the surgery, to make an appointment with the nurse as, guess what, I've got another one of those darn awful bites which turned into a huge bubble, come up on my leg, below my left knee this time *sigh*.  Don't know what's going on!! It came out last night after being incredibly itchy for a day.  The only thing I can think of that I went for a woodland and lakeside walk last Friday and because I was well covered went into a grassy area (not tall grass though).  I do hope this is not going to be a thing as I love woodland walks.  First appointment I could get was next Monday, so I'm going to have to make sure it doesn't pop before then and protect it!!  That means I'm going to have 3 large red circles on my legs now - no trips down the cat walk for me I guess!!!!

However it didn't stop me from having a grand day out, as it's just a little hot and itchy now not painful or anything.  

For those that don't know this is a photo of Market Street in Ulverston looking from behind the war memorial down towards the wonderful Gillam's Tea Rooms.  

Ulverston was also the birthplace of Stan Laurel, from Laurel and Hardy, hence there are a lot of references to him around the town, you can see the florist has called themselves Floral and Hardy from the photo.

Thank you again for dropping by, I really do appreciate it.  Take care and see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.