Abstract

The trouble being it's Wide Angle Wednesday and tomorrow is Abstract Thursday!
However. I acquired a 'new' lens this morning - traded in a redundant Nikon for a secondhand Olympus which is not a 'pro' lens but has the big advantage of being very lightweight for its range (14-150) - a good walkaround street lens.

I was keen to try it out so took it with us on the dog walk.  I think it performed very well - any inadequacies were due to me not getting the settings correct and what I was expecting it to achieve.  I found an old shed with masses of texture, wooden knotholes, litchens etc - a few very happy minutes spent there. One rather abstract but very appealing image used as a blip.

Feeling very despondent/annoyed today after unpleasant feedback from a recent judging session.  Judges at club comps are fair game for criticism - whatever we say or do will be liked/disliked in equal measure. I don't mind critique but what I object to is hearing that I was being torn apart in the pub afterwards.  I am beginning to really object to the general attitude that judges are useless, stupid and know little about photography.  We freely give our own time to travel long distances, often in poor weather, and getting home late.  Be kind or we won't do it!

Do appreciate your judges.  Be thoughtful and considerate - otherwise you may not find them there when you want them.  I will (probably) recover from my Drama-Queen moment.  
Rant over!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.