Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Muscat

(24/10/19)

We're back from a short trip to visit our friend in Muscat. I didn't get to my laptop for leisure this time; so catching up with a couple of days here...

We had a very good journey up; not much waiting at the border. It was good to find everything is still the same. I had to get a new SIM so I could have some data. Fortunately, Oman has much better deals for tourists than the UAE!

We got to Hilde's and went out again almost immediately. She suggested Afternoon Tea at the Al Bustan Palace Hotel which is a Ritz Carlton property. It was something I wanted to do, so we had high hopes that it would be the same as when we went last year.

This time, it's as if all the staff had forgotten they work for a five-star hotel. Hilde made two calls to Reception before a waitress acknowledged we were in the lounge. We gave our order - as it is October, they are only serving a "Pink" Afternoon tea. The Chef had worked hard to provide a "pink" alternative to all their standard fare. It was OK; I wish we were given the option to order a Classic Afternoon tea.

I won't go into more detail about what else didn't work as it should while we were there. We left the place appalled at the poor service we received.

Next stop was Muttrah Souq. I always love visiting Muttrah Seafront, but today we went into the souq. It has changed a lot - mainly to appeal to the cruise ships who now call into Muscat. There were loads of things to see. I have included a few things that really stood out. Thankfully, there were quite a few "pink" items for me. :)

We got back to Hilde's place around 10 pm and drank our way through a bottle of Moet before finally getting to bed, way too tired to think about anything but getting some sleep! It's been a very full and non-stop day!

There are only a few more days left of me asking if you could kindly click here to help towards free mammograms. :)  Thank you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.