Drinks in the rooftop bar

This evening after work I met my friend Quintin in the bar of the new Market Street Hotel. Quintin is one of my oldest friends. We first met as gap year students in Paris (although it wasn't called a 'gap year' in those days) and then rediscovered one another as languages undergraduates at the University of Birmingham. 

Quintin currently works for a Chinese woman who has decided to come on holiday to Scotland with her children this week. Quintin is accompanying them as their translator.

For a while this evening Quintin, his employer's daughter, and I were sitting in the bar at the hotel together drinking cocktails (or - in the child's case - a mocktail). Anyone observing us might have thought that we were a couple with our adopted daughter. I have to say that she was a complete sweetie and I would have gladly taken her home with me.

Exercise today: walk up to town and back (steps around 6,000 - I wasn't wearing my Garmin).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.