Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Flying saucer

I knew the weather was going to be horrible today so we decided to take Xena for a walk after breakfast before it set in. Of course that meant we did not watch the rugby - I thought it would be the usual white wash with the All Blacks winning, so I was delighted when I found out that England had won and with such a convincing score. Possibly an England vs SA final?

After the dog walk we went in to the village as we both had flu jabs booked at Boots - rather painless and efficiently carried out. We had to take turns standing outside Boots with Xena and as recommended by the trainer at puppy classes we stood on the lead so she could not jump up, so as people passing by stopped to say hello to her and pat her she had to sit there very calmly and get praised for not jumping up. After the jabs we felt that deserved a coffee at our favourite cafe - dogs are not allowed in there, but because we asked so nicely and it was cold outside they let her come in.

Back home I made a butternut and ginger soup. Luke and Meriel are coming home for lunch tomorrow so I wanted to make the soup today so I could do the main course tomorrow. However Luke has just phoned to say they have decided to come home tonight and stay over, so that is a nice surprise.

It is now raining and Gavin has taken Xena out for another walk - she does not enjoy the rain! A perfect evening for staying in and watching TV.

This mushroom is in my garden - all week I have been planning to take  a photo of it, before something starts eating it. It was a rather large one. It did involve being down on my knees as low as possible and using a reflector to get some light onto those gills.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.