Daily Tales

By PamelaJ

Local walk

Before the rain descended, we walked from home to the village and continued walking for about 3.5 miles (according to my steps app) along footpaths and over farmland, on a circular walk back home.

My blip is of an old corrugated metal building located next to a footpath where horses are kept. I wonder what it is used for.

I have added some extras from the same location. There is a pretty row of cottages at the start of the footpath. The acer in one of the tiny front gardens was a stunning autumnal colour.

I love this house, which is opposite the cottages. It is called Tilecroft. I cannot find any information on it except that the area was recorded as being tile makers from the 15th century.

The final picture is of a coal post. This is one of 280 posts (210 remain ) that were erected in the 1860s that form an irregular loop between 12 and 18 miles from London to mark the points where taxes on coal were due to the Corporation of London.

It was a short walk but one that was very interesting and varied. My apologies to Admirer that I didn't contribute to her Silly Saturday challenge. Next week, hopefully.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.