Woodland forage

After a morning of dusting, and I mean all morning all I did was dust (and cooked dinner for midday) we drove over to Pretty Corner for a nice woodland walk. We collected some chestnuts to prepare for the freezer to have at Christmas. There were lots, but most were not very big. It is still a bit warm to have a fire, but I will spend the evenings boiling and peeling this week. Also so many interesting fungi, especially the earth star (which seemed to be mimicking the opened chestnut cases all around them).

I also collected some conkers, although not many and want to find more if the kids have left any!! I plan to use them to try and make an eco friendly washing detergent. No doubt I will blip it if it works!

After our walk, back home it was a short afternoon of light, but I managed to dig out a few hostas which were in the wrong place. For now though, everything is being moved into pots, so that I can be sure I put them in the right place next spring, so I hope they all survive the winter. More bulbs popped out of the ground as I dug, but I've put them back into pots. I have put newspaper down on the ground that has been dug over, as a way to suppress the weeds. Another thing I am trying, recycling the paper and cheaper than the proper stuff.

I've had a lovely early bath and now settling down to watch some tv before bed. A 4 day week again this week for me then I'm off to London for the weekend for my annual reunion with the lovely Chester ladies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.