Aachen

Sunday brought an early start to catch the 8.32 DB Bahn ICE to Köln. Getting a hotel near the station was a good decision.

In September 1970 I went on an InterRail trip to Germany, Switzerland, Luxembourg and France with 5 school friends. We had all left high school that summer. Our first train journey outside the UK was from Ostende to Köln. 

As we entered Germany there was some discussion about whether we had to change trains in Aachen. When we got there, I was volunteered to get off and ask. 

I did. It was a through train. 

By the time I turned around, it was leaving - with my bag and (useless) friends on it. The station staff were very helpful and put me on the next train via Mönchengladbach. I was reunited with my rucksack and my (useless) friends at the youth hostel in Köln. 

Well, this morning’s train to Köln via Aachen was less eventful. I did think of getting off at Aachen to take a train to Köln via Mönchengladbach just for old times’ sake, but the ICE was too fast and comfortable.   

Just like during my brief stop in Berlin last month, it feels strange to be back in Germany. It was like a second home for 6 years, and I loved it. Of course that was Bavaria. Berlin and Köln are so different. But still Germany. 

It is bringing back a lot of memories, but they just have to be tackled head on. 

Of course I had to Blip Köln Hbf. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.