Red Holly berries...

...in my garden.

Again more workmen noises next door. This time adjoining my garage. All this work by the same cowboys my neighbour employs has been going on almost daily for months now.

I locked Popeye in my bedroom for his own safety as the cowboys were taking the roof tiles off my neighbour's garage.

I had a bad feeling.

So when I did some washing and put some towels out on the clothes maiden in the garden, then two men on the roof acted a bit guilty.

So I went in and grabbed a dry towel to add on the clothes maiden, and with going back out immediately, I caught the two cowboys in the act. They were dropping the old roof tiles from my neighbour's garage to in between the two garages, mine and my neighbour's.

My phone was in my pocket. So I wasn't quick enough to take a photo.

I said I had just seen them dropping the old tiles between the two garages.  Their excuse was there was already rubble between the garage walls. I had a lot to say to them. I roared at them.

My neighbour is not in so I cannot go round and tell him. But in any case judging by the past he will tell me to mind my own business.

So I brought my cup of tea out and sat in my garden. They went to their van to do something similar to have a cuppa. When they came back they expected me gone because it is pretty near freezing here.

They were disappointed I was still sat here. Now they had to get the roof tiles off the garage roof in the proper manner, and carry them to the skip. They are furious with me for catching them out.

I am sat here in my garden facing them, with my phone camera in my hand doing stuff on it, and watching you tube.

I am going to do a bit of garden pruning when I have finished my cuppa. They are making derogatory remarks about me. I can't make them out, except I just made out 'She's still sitting there' because they said it very loudly.

What else am I supposed to do.

I sit in my garden anyway during the day on my thatched swing...and I sit in the potting shed during the day, even in cold weather, as you all know.

You mean I am not allowed to sit in my own garden? I am not allowed to be in my own garden, my own property?

This is intolerable.


UPDATE: A short while later, because I was still sitting in my garden keeping an eye on the cowboy workmen, and occupying myself by trying to find out what other stuff was on my new phone, and I found something buried under inside the settings...it is not quite an external app as such, but something built into this particular phone.

It seems I have a service on this phone called Live Transcribe. It is specifically to help me as a deaf person to recognise sounds. I have have only recently just got this Pixel 3a because it was specifically recommended by Cochlear site for compatability with the Nucleus 7 Speech Processor.

I have just been looking at this Live Transcribe service. And I have just registered this minute. Apparently it is not just for speech, but tells you if the noise you are hearing is the  doorbell ringing, or a dog barking. I have got it on now, and it is transcribing the conversation of these two cowboy workmen just yards away from me on the neighbour's garage roof. It is definitely not a conversation that should be said in my presence, nor to be repeated, and certainly not on here. They are trying to send me retreating to inside my bungalow. But the irony is I had no idea of what they were saying, even though I knew it was derogatory to me. They don’t realise I am profoundly deaf.

They are waiting for me to go in so they can drop more rubbish between the two garages. That is the polite bit of the conversation...

However the irony of all this is I am profoundly deaf even with the Cochlear Implant and am not able to make out unseen speech, which means I would not normally be able to make out what they are saying. They probably think they can drive me indoors with their topics of conversation and verbal abuse of me. But I cannot hear it.

However I can 'hear' them now with this app which is built into the phone and I activate by touching a little man bottom right of the screen.

I am actually finding this riveting. 

You cannot actually email or save these 'conversations', in any way, they are simply for immediate use and to help a deaf person in the daily environment with sounds and words they are unable to recognise...

Excuse me, I need a cuppa tea to warm up and I am coming back out here...

This is actually turning out to be an interesting day...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.