I had planned...

...on a carvery meal today, but after yesterday's debacle with the cowboy workmen next door trying to do short cuts by covertly dropping the old roofing tiles from my neighbour's garage into the six/eight inch space between our two garages instead of taking them off the garage roof and putting them in the skip at the front of the other side of the property, I wasn't leaving my own  garage roof unattended today.

So I reconsidered and went out
for a very early breakfast. And this photo in extras is of the wall on the diner next to me.

The main photo above is my Live Transcribe screenshots...go to below the stars if you want to skip the next bit of me grumbling even more about shoddy workmen next door...

I came home to three people on the neighbour's on the garage roof. The same two people as yesterday, plus a 11/13 year old girl. Presumably a daughter of one of the two men. I find this odd, the two men 'working' on the neighbour's garage roof, and a girl quite happy to walk to and fro on the sloping garage roof which now has chipboard on it and nothing else yet.

I came in, put some washing on because the sun is out today even though there was a hard frost earlier and the car windows had to be de-iced. Then I went back to bed with cat Popeye, until washing was done, because I have been awake since 2 am this morning.

An hour later I went to put the clothes drying maiden outside and the girl is still standing on the sloping garage roof an hour later. I don't know any 11/13 year old girl who would be apparently okay with that.

I have tried to ignore those two cowboys today, but each time I go out, to put rubbish out etc they are always walking past the other side of the wall. I have never known workmen prolong a job many many times over by wasting so much time. This has been going on  next door for about five months now. I just want them gone.

They have painted bitumen to paint/stick the roofing felt on the chipboard they nailed on my neighbour's garage roof. It's still unfinished.

I had my own garage roof done when I first moved here. It took my guy one full day to do it single handedly. He took my old roof off, put it on his trailer, then nailed thick plywood on the beams. Then  torched some industrial quality and thickness of roofing felt on to my garage roof. My guy had worked liked a Trojan, and I had the potting shed installed same day by another group of people, and I asked my roofing felt guy to put a layer of his roofing felt on top of the cheap roofing felt that comes with potting shed. And 15 years later both my garage and potting shed roofing felt are still perfect and waterproof. It took my one guy one day to do my garage roof, and he worked hard all day.

I have a double length garage. My neighbour next door has a single length garage, and there have been two men working on it for two days now...and most of the time they are gossiping, looking at their phones and not working, and looking at the 11/13 year old girl's phone...

It was the same story with my neighbour’s replacement bungalow roof. A two day job stretched into several weeks, with the guys just sitting on the roof and smoking and gossiping...not doing any work.

I estimate at least until the end of this week, if not stretched into next week  for these two useless idiots to 'complete' this job... sigh...one of these guys has been always present doing all these different works from the beginning 5 months ago. He appears to be the main guy my neighbour employs.

*****

Anyway, I have been experimenting with this Live Transcribe app embedded in this Pixel 3a phone, that I discovered yesterday, and mentioned in my post yesterday. It seemed to have great potential. And was helpful to me yesterday.

I have researched it a bit more. It does need an internet connection to work. There is a blue circle in the top right corner which pulses when the sound/noise is there. And this aids me to find an unknown sound to me in my bungalow because the more it pulses the closer I am to the sound.

I leave this Live Transcribe running in the background all the time, and the phone vibrates if there is a noise or someone speaks after a period of silence. It also connects a low sound (unobtrusive) of a warning beep directly to my Speech Processor to alert me, and so if someone is speaking to me and I don't realise then I can look at my phone and realise that someone has spoken to me and what someone has said without having to say pardon I didn't hear you.

That was tested out in the diner this morning in the diner. The person greeted me with different words than usual, and I didn't have a clue what she had said. Then my phone vibrates and I have a low sound alert in my processor, so I looked at the phone and it told me she had said 'Do you want to sit in the sun, or a table with no sun'. (The sun is very low and blinding at the moment). So I am looking in amazement at my phone. I had to explain to her I was deaf, lip-read, forgotten to my badge on to alert people I can have a problem, and what the phone was doing for me.

She apologized (!) for using different words and throwing me (!).

Google appear to be working with Android in particular for this service. You need at least Android 9 Pie for this service, and it is pre-installed in the Pixel series.

There is a lot more this Live Transcribe does.

So the main Blip photo is of a collage of screenshots I took when this Live Transcribe explained there was a noise or a sound. For example some explanations were - 'music', 'classical music', 'piano playing', baby crying', 'machinery boise' (that one was for the noisy workmen next door!),  'dog barking' (again that noisy dog next door!), 'knocking', and a whole host more noises. And you can tap on the noise explanation, and then it gives you a brief description of the noise. I have included a couple of examples in the collage.

Now I have just discovered something else in the Pixel  settings for hard of hearing/deaf people, another Google service which appears to be just for Android...so byee while I try out that...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.