Kipsie

By Kipsie

dot dot dot dash dot dot dot dot dot dash

That's Viv in Morse code, well something like that. Dot = spot Dash = stripe. I suddenly thought to check the theme for today's challenge while I was down at the weir yesterday. The wonders of modern technology,  mobile data. Straight ahead of me telegraph posts & wires. Perfect! Just as well I took these pics yesterday as I've been busy working on Mum's garden today. Pyracantha & Berberis Julianae are real brutes. I've just found where a spike got me today. Ouch! I suggested hubby maybe had a go at painting the wrought iron gates as they're looking really scruffy but the response was'nt very promising so I headed down on my own. Mum was already cutting back the Michaelmas daisies which have taken over one corner of the border. I started on the pyracantha that has shot up along the side of the garage, cutting it back below the roof line, easy with the new step ladder. Ripped out the ivy that was making its way under the garage roof, repaired the guttering, cutting back the herbaceous plants that were taking over a bit. The garden waste bin was virtually full which was a bit of a nuisance.That border sorted. Mum went in for lunch I kept working. I stripped out a complete wall of honeysuckle. It does'nt produce any flower and the roots were running along the base of the wall. Not good. Next job. Give the elderberry the chop. More garden waste. I suggested getting an evergreen climber to  grow up through it as I'm sure attempting to dig out the roots would disturb the garage structure, the wooden door frame already a bit rotten in places. Best not to tempt fate. The wind was bitterly cold but with my four layers it was fine. I cut the Berberis back by three quarters. The spikes are lethal so pruning took a while. Last job outside cut the plants back growing on the trellis up the front of the bungalow. Kevin will probably have to make two trips to the recycle centre, but the garden looked much better for a tidy up. Started at 11am finished at 4pm.  A quick couple of indoor jobs ... Get the bread making machine out of the loft. Mum is never really happy with the loaves she buys so I suggested she tries a few of the off the shelf bread mixes. You never know. :)
I spotted my furry onesie. Not an item of clothing I was familiar with until I came back from Thailand but while I was undergoing my cancer treatment through December & January, I was finding it difficult to keep warm. Josie came to visit me, (I was staying with Mum), had a cuppa & a chat. Then off she went. An hour or so later she came back, she'd bought me a furry hooded onesie & socks to help me keep warm. So thoughtful & kind. My plastic radiation mask was also in the loft. Cassiesmum came with me on many of my pre cancer treatment  appointments, & actually came into the room & watched when my mask was moulded to my face. A very weird sensation & experience, which Cassiesmum & I talked about after.  I consider myself very fortunate to have such good friends. I brought the onesie home with me. I'm going to take it with me when I go away on holiday with Josie and another friend next week. I'll wear it for a laugh. The mask remained in the bag, in the loft.
After visiting the local pottery exhibition at Torre Abbey last week Mum wanted to show me a piece of Watcombe Pottery, a Lucky Devon pixie jam pot that she had. The text written on it is " 'ello yerzels me artiez" ... I have no idea what that is. Time to head home.

Bit early but decided a cider would hit the spot. Just in time to watch The Chase. Easy dinner tonight. Warmed homemade pasty. I like mayo with mine. There was an interesting programme on Beeb 4 - The Great Barrier Reef. 26,000 Green turtles were recorded coming up on the beach at Raine Island on the northern Great Barrier Reef and laying their eggs in one night. TWENTYSIX THOUSAND???? A fascinating programme. Fingers crossed the next episode will be next Monday evening.
Right then, I'm off. Coffee, & bed. I've jut started reading  The Russian Concubine by Kate Furnivall

Thanks to Chantler63 for hosting Mono Monday & setting the challenge Spots & Stripes

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.