madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Budapest Again!

Oscar and I did the same 2 hour walk we did last sunday ! I think it is now our regular sunday walk! Like last weekend it was a beautifully sunny day after the torrential rain and wind of the previous day! At one point we met up with an elderly lady and her two dogs and Oscar had a fine time playing with the younger dog as we watched and chatted! I then bumped into someone I knew which was very fortunate as I had spoken to her  husband sometime ago about doing my kitchen. The fact I bought an undercounter fridge which came without finishing sides or door ( not shown on the photographs when I bought it!) I had taken it as a sign to get on and have my kitchen done! Luckily he is free of work at the moment so a fortunate meeting indeed! Now I have to decide what colour scheme I want and whether to knock open the chimney to put in an Aga!! The Exile thinks I should knock down the wall and move the staircase and my sofa!!! Since I spend most of my time in my kitchen as it's the lightest room and has the only heat source of an ancient night storage heater, I think not! It's going to be an upcycled make over as I'm not a fitted kitchen type of person! I need a more bohemian look!
Come the eve Colourful Mai, Vegan Jo and her Wannabee Calstock Dweller friend headed out to the next village to see The Budapest Cafe Orchestra. We saw them 3 years ago and I couldn't believe they were playing in a local village hall! I wondered if the performance would be the same - but it was a new set and The Sultan did a different comedic spiel based on the instruments he plays, jam before cream on scones and a slight aside to brexit - very funny! You can get a tatse of their humour and the range of instruments they play here. I was transfixed by the accordian and after the interval, when the player of this instrument asked if I would send him my photos, I moved from my seat right at the back to stand either side of the stage to get better photos - I felt he had given me permission!! As my camera makes an audible click I timed my shots to the noisy sections of music! Anyway - I was amazed to see his accordian had no keyboard but another set of buttons! Looking it up once home it's a melodian or diatonic button accordion. The sounds he produced were amazing! You can see it and him here! Have a look at the shoes and socks they were wearing too - 1950's clothes I think - they say they go charity shopping! Their facebook page shows a natty array of ties too! 
I was  interested to note that at the begining of the concert I was quite agitated - a woman next to me had an overwhelming perfume that seemed to be getting on my chest. I have got very sensitive to smells of late. It wasn't a nice perfume either! More like the powdery undertone of a cheap perfume!! After the interval and away from her perfume and engaged in taking photos and having a close up view of the band I was fine!
I was relieved when I got home to find that Oscar had been fine too! It's the first time I've left him for a considerable time in the evening! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.