lovelife209

By mindful_life

Shine bright

It is my second day back blipping and today I have mostly been at home. Usually I am at work but I have had a persistent cough for nearly three weeks now so I made an appointment at the doctors for this morning. 
 
The doctor I saw was so lovely. He was a new doctor and had so much time for me it was lovely. Or not so lovely for him having to listen to me talking about my coughing! But he was thorough and thought that whilst he doesn’t think there is a bacterial infection, said to me I need to rest and signed me off work for the rest of this week. 
 
I came home afterwards and went back to bed and slept for probably 2 hours, which was clearly much needed.  
 
Today’s quote is:
 
“It is difficult to live in the present, ridiculous to life in the future and impossible to live in the past.” – Jim Bishop
 
Some of you may remember that I am very interested in Mindfulness (hence my blip name). Mindfulness is all about being present, and noticing the workings of the mind and the tendency our mind has to wander into the past and the future.  It is what human minds do – we are hardwired to think about the past and future but it also causes us a tremendous amount of psychological difficulty. Learning to be present is difficult, it takes practice and persistence, but the results are definitely worthwhile. 
 
My blip photo today is of a little picture I saw today in the shop when I took my daughter to buy a gift for her friend.  Each day is a chance to shine. In fact each moment is a chance to shine. Shine bright today, shine bright now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.