Spa Day 2 - Glenwood Springs

Last evening’s snowfall lasted most of the night and we woke up to a winter wonderland. It’s a good thing I came prepared with winter clothes because it was warm and sunny when I arrived in autumn clothes and sandals 2 days ago! That’s Colorado for you! See the Extra photo for early morning snow pictures around my hotel and the hot springs pool.

By 10am the sun had come out but it remained COLD all day - I don’t think it got above freezing. This morning’s outing was to a newer hot springs spa which opened in 2015 - Iron Mountain Hot Springs. This spa is made up of 16 different small pools and one larger (and cooler) family pool. The smaller pools range in temperature from 98F to 108F (36C to 42C), so you can try different ones to find the temperature to your liking. The development sits right above the Colorado river. I enjoyed a couple of hours there, trying out most of the pools and soaking up the winter sun. The big pool in town is a ‘must’ to experience, but I think I prefer this one!

After my visit there I made my way to my next outing. There is a gondola ride to the top of the mountain - not to a ski resort, but to an amusement park! That wasn’t exactly what I was looking for - but there were also two cave tours at the top. So I went for the ride, the view, and to see some caves. It was COLD at the top! But beautiful and both tours were interesting.

By the time I came back down in the gondola it had turned cloudy again and by mid evening the snow was back. I was warm and cosy though, sitting by the big fireplace in the hotel lobby.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.