Afternoon Tea At The Brown Palace

When I decided to stay a couple of extra days in Denver, I waited until the last minute to book a hotel. I was shocked to find that I could get an amazing rate at the historic Brown Palace hotel. This is an exclusive and expensive hotel, with the guest list including Rock stars, celebrities and almost every US President since it was built in 1892. Even King George V stayed here! The hotel is well known for its Afternoon Tea which is served every day in the lobby. When I lived in Denver I had tea there many times - for special occasions and when out of town friends visited. I never dreamed that I would one day be able to actually stay there - on my own dime! So it made this visit very special.

This morning I went out for breakfast near Union Station and afterwards explored that area, which has gone through huge development in recent years - some I’d seen, and some was much more recent. It was a warm and sunny day, so typical of Colorado, especially beautiful with the autumn colours against the deep blue sky. I walked along another stretch of the Cherry Creek Trail (see Extra photos).

I came back to the hotel in time for Afternoon Tea at 4pm and decided to indulge, even though I was on my own. I wasn’t disappointed. They still serve the most authentic English Afternoon Tea that I’ve ever had outside of England. Accompanied by the piano. If you’re ever in Denver it really is worth treating yourself!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.