Denver Rules

The Denver work trip I’m on has ended up as a mini-vacation of 2 extra nights because the flight from London to Denver is now discontinued until next spring. So I was on one of the last flights and was able to stay a couple of extra days. I lived in Denver for 9 years in the 80s and 90s and I still have strong connections here but amazingly haven’t visited for 5 years until earlier this month. Denver is booming and I’ve watched so much change in the 26 years that I’ve lived away, much of it happening in these last 5 years. So today was a day to explore - some familiar ground and some new.

I started this afternoon at Denver’s Civic park and stood on the step of the Capitol Building where a marker shows that this step is exactly 1 mile above sea level. The city truly IS the Mile High City! The Capitol Building (middle left) was built in the style of the US Capitol in Washington DC and it looks out towards the City & County Building (City Hall) (top right).

From there I briefly visited the Denver Library (top middle). The original Library is still there but this view is of the new wing, built since I moved away. It’s a beautiful space inside and I always like to visit when I’m here. The Denver Art museum is in the same area, again, the older building as well as a newer building and now they are extending it again! This whole area, the Golden Triangle, is known for its museums and galleries and several interesting places to eat. I stopped for a snack at a bakery and enjoyed eating outside. Even though Denver has had at first snowfall already - since I was here earlier in the month - it was sunny and warm today.

From there I found my way to the Cherry Creek Trail which winds its way through the city and out to the suburbs (bottom right and middle). It’s a terrific trail for exercise either on foot or by bike, or these days, frequently by scooters (which can be rented in a similar way to city bike-share programmes). I was very tempted but stayed on my own two feet this visit! I walked for awhile and enjoyed people watching and also looking at the many displays of graffiti, all very well done and colourful. The Sun was beginning to set and Colorado is known for its amazing sunsets over the mountains. I wasn’t disappointed tonight!

I got off the trail at the Denver Centre For Performing Arts. I wanted to see ‘The Dancers’ - the giant figures that can be seen between the Arts centre and the Convention centre (top left and middle right). They’re rather fun, I think.

By this time it was about 630pm and I decided on a whim to see what was playing at the centre. There’s usually a variety of performances in any evening, and can include theatre, ballet, opera and symphony. Amazingly I got a ticket for the musical ‘Love Never Dies’ which is a sequel to Phantom of the Opera, which I also saw in Denver years ago. Because I walked up to the box office within the hour before the performance started, I got a very good seat for half price! I very much enjoyed it - an interesting story and beautiful sets. I was glad I was at the right place at the right time!

It was a full day and I was happy to get back to my hotel and collapse into bed! I’m glad to be back in Denver!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.