In An Instant

By MrRosewarne

'Bushfire Warning'

Another really hot day today with tops in the high 30's again.

Just before I left work Mrs R called to tell me that there was a bushfire close to home in Kangaroo Ground. I looked up the CFA website which lists all current threats and warnings and found out that it was only about 6 or 7 km from our home, but being blown in the other direction. It's currently about 5 hectares in size and threatening homes in Kangaroo Ground. There are 28 appliances fighting the fire and a water bombing helicopter. Let's hope the winds don't turn 180 degrees or we'd be in direct line.

At the moment the temperatures have dropped quite a bit and the winds have calmed considerably so hopefully it'll be under control soon, but we'll stay vigilant tonight just in case.

This shot is of Mum's little dog Jessy that we're dog sitting at the moment. My mum and Nana have gone over to Perth for a week or so to visit my neices new baby son. Wow, my younger sister is now a grandmother, and my nana in now a great, great grandmother at the young age of 85. This also makes me a great uncle. Aparently all is going well with little Hamish Jack.

Jessy is such a good dog to look after, firstly because she's old and doesn't bother looking for any trouble any more, she just finds a nice quiet spot and lies down to sleep and snore. Although she did take a few falls down our flight of concrete steps the day she arrived and I thought she'd broken a leg or something. She's starting to go blind and deaf too poor little one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.