Lulu05star

By Lulu05star

Monet-esque

I don't have visions of grandeur but Water lilies and reflections are for many synonymous with Monet, and hence this photo is Monet-esque. It was taken this afternoon just down the road from home near the Margaret River Bridge as you enter town.

This morning I spent time photographing nature around home... included a large rabbit who comes to visit (need more powerful telephoto lens as he is quite skittish), a red-cheeked firetail (little finch like bird), Australian ring-necked parrot, white breasted robin, New Holland honeyeater....so I was getting plenty of practice but I wasn't satisfied with many.


Close to 5pm I went down to the river with the hope to photograph the Purple Swamphen and was pleased to see her standing there on the bridge. However, she was not happy to have this mad photographer walking towards her and she didn't stay around long enough for me to get the shot I wanted. It was interesting to see her out of the water though...she has big feet!!! She had flown downstream a little so off I went. I was about to walk down a narrow path to the riverbank when I was stopped by an English chap who said that a tiger snake had been spotted a little way along the main path. Hmmm...stood with him for a few minutes scanning the bush and then I decided to walk along further ...10 metres and the chap called out giving me a huge fright. Adrenalin pumping...fight or flight... and flight won. He thought he had seen something move but it was only the wind in the bush. I wasn't dressed as an intrepid snake hunter (sandals and skirt) and I actually have a fear of snakes so what did I think I was doing.

About faced and headed to the safety of the water lilies and still waters. I really like the reflections in this photo...it has a painterly quality.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.