Lulu05star

By Lulu05star

Ethereal sunset, Surfer's Point, Prevelly.

I headed north at 6pm towards Cowaramup (8km) and a tumbled down farm house that I thought would photograph well in the late afternoon light. I was mistaken. The south side of the building was nicely illuminated but the east facing front facade was of course in deep shade. And that is the more interesting aspect. Doh!! Should have thought that one through a bit better.

The backlit cows in the tall golden grass may have made for a nice pic if only a few of the 30 or so cows had chosen to look at me rather than presenting me with their rump. Oh well, not to be this time.

Heading home I noticed the potential for an interesting sunset over the Indian Ocean so I continued driving south, past home to Surfer's Point, Prevelly to try my luck and this photo is the result; an ethereal scene and one that suggests our prayers (wishes) for rain might soon be answered. No surfers out tonight, it was far too choppy, but there were a couple of windsurfers enjoying the conditions (can be spotted as two tiny spots of red on the ocean just right of centre).

As I drove the 18kms between Cowaramup and Prevelly hoping to get to the beach before the clouds closed in and blocked the light, I thought of photographers who chase hurricanes. I do like to amuse myself and was very aware that my chasing the light was actually nothing like what these adventurers do. There was no adrenalin coursing through my veins...just daydreams wafting in and out as the kilometres and time passed by.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.