Lulu05star

By Lulu05star

Market Day

This morning I ventured out to the Station Street Markets, Subiaco and I was surprised and rather delighted that there weren't the crowds that have previously deterred me from frequenting them. I used to walk here every Friday, little dog Holly on a lead and a shopping bag in hand and I would imagine that I was in Paris...(I can be a bit of a daydreaming Walter Mitty character at times). The reason it wasn't so busy today was possibly because it was a hot day, or maybe because many people are still away on holidays.

I actually went there with the purpose of taking a photo and as there were no long queues or a throng of people, I also managed to buy some lovely fresh produce (mangoes, avocados, grated green pawpaw for salad, etc...and just quietly ... a little treat in the form of a cherry clafouti from the French Patisserie).

I was hoping to get a photo showing the diversity of the people who frequent the markets...all ages, races, males and females...but it just didn't work out as I feel rude pointing a camera at strangers, but this photo at least shows how we are blessed with an abundance of beautiful fruit and vegetables here in the West. I don't know how much is imported as oranges, apples and pears certainly aren't in season at the moment..perhaps the produce isn't as fresh as it appears and is from cold storage. Who knows. We get cherries in winter these days from Washington, and strawberries and watermelon all year from I don't know where. Stone fruits remain summer fare though...but not such a joy to eat as they were when I was young and they were always guaranteed to be full of flavour, a great texture, sweet and perfectly ripe.

Tomorrow Perth is heading to 44 C. Lulu is sleeping at Tara's tonight and will have fun with her cousins. They have a very early trip to the beach planned and then it will be inside with the air conditioner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.