Lulu05star

By Lulu05star

Lulu's leg-oh

"What can I do now Nana" is a phrase I have heard so often from Lulu in the past, but not these school holidays. (I know Mum...she takes after me as that was apparently my most commonly used phrase when I was Lulu's age). I had thought that she wasn't very good at self-amusing, but now realise that the problem was that this is not her home and she really doesn't know what she can do. When we were in Margaret River I took her to ABC bookshop and had her chose a bundle of books hoping to encourage her reading. She took to them like a duck to water and each time I visited her at her dad's she had her head in a book.

When she packed her bag to come to Perth she made sure that a couple of books were popped in. As she is my eldest grandchild I knew that I didn't have much at home that would appeal to her with regards to play and so we called into Bunbury Kmart and I splurged out on some Lego and craft materials. What a good idea that was. When she woke this morning she wanted to read for awhile...100 pages later she decided it was time to get up and get back to the Lego...wow...No more "What can I do now Nana"...now she is telling me what she is going to do next.

At home Lulu knows what she has to play with but at Nana's it is a different matter. I am happy to do craft with her for several hours, but then I need a break and it is great that she is now able to find somethings to amuse herself.

I took several photos this morning and this afternoon of her completed lego model. Some were better pics than this with regards to composition but I have chosen this one because it is one of only a few with Lulu in the background and she is key to the post.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.