Black Dog

My third day off work and I spent the morning generally resting before I headed to Oxford for the evening. I am taking part in a Mindfulness Based Cogitive Therapy Course at the Oxford Mindfulness Centre, which is 8 weeks long. Since I started practicing Mindfulness a couple of years ago, I always wanted to go on a course at the centre. It was founded in the 1980s and is the most renowned institute in the UK for mindfulness. The course is also a pre-requisite to go on and go a teaching qualification.



So today was session 5 and each week we build on the last. Last week’s home practice included a daily 40 minute sitting meditation, together with various practices to weave into daily life. Theses continue over the next week in addition to an extra practice to add it. I plan on using my journal here a little to record my practices as it may be helpful to ensure I do them, particularly as they are increasing every week!



This little (big) dog was in the foyer of the centre and is the Black Dog Campaign which was created as a celebration of the 25th anniversary for the charity SANE, which highlights depression and other mental health conditions. I hadn’t heard of this charity before, so was interested to read about it.



On arriving home, I was greeted by some scary looking children, who had been involved in Halloween celebrations.



The additional practice over the next week is to do one random act of kindness a day. Feel free to join me!



Today’s quote:



“Giving connects two people, the giver and the receiver, and this connection gives birth to a new sense of belonging.” Deepak Chopra

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.