Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

Hugging a lamp post - not a tree!

The Council is replacing the old lamps where we live and as I was going to catch my bus this morning, I saw the electrician "hugging" the lamp post. Thought it would make an interesting blip so asked if I could take his photograph. He agreed and here he is!

He and his mate were interested to know why I wanted to take such a bizarre picture so I explained about Blipfoto.

It also gave me an opportunity to chat with them and to give them some words of encouragement. I told them they were doing a great job and thanked them - they looked very surprised - so I guess not many people compliment council workers on doing a good job!!

So - what did I get out of that encounter with two young men, who after all, were only doing their job? Well I felt good and I hope they did too but hopefully they will remember the compliment the next time someone criticises them and will remember that silly old lady taking photographs for her daily blip!!

"Here is a simple, rule-of-thumb guide for behaviour: Ask yourself what you want people to do for you, then grab the initiative and do it for them. Matthew 7:12

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.