Optimism on Display

The red sacks in the doorway are selling wood for fires, but in front of the shop there are two tables for sitting outside with a tea or coffee. Except for very dedicated smokers I cannot see anybody choosing to sit outside today, so this is unrealistic optimism.

I did go for a coffee but stayed inside, and avoided having a cake as well. Very virtuous of me. Although the shop still has lights outside and in the window, I think they are there all year round, so not specifically for Christmas. Just as well as otherwise it might have brought misfortune to the shop.

There was a very nice restaurant just nearby, Paula McEwan's. I had heard a rumour she was looking for a new location for her restaurant. As a customer on her mailing list I received an email on 31st December 2012. She has indeed found a new location, unfortunately it is in Paris. That was not what I had expected. So Aberdeen has lost one of its best restaurants, fortunately we still have a couple left.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.