Denial

Good old reliable Central Market, my go-to for Silly Saturday.  I thought this skull-and-crossbones soap fit the bill.

The ghastly thing that happened Thursday was that I fell while putting my walker into the trunk of the car and couldn't get myself up because my lower legs and feet had gone numb and my legs had no strength.  It brought home to me that I've been denying the really worrying medical issue in my life.  Two weeks ago I discovered while trying to climb the stairs at Lex's house that my legs were so weak that I could only do it by grabbing on to the handrail and hauling myself up.  When I went to get my ears re-pierced, I took a step down the stairs and my legs gave out and I sat right down and had to be helped to my feet. I should have accepted at that point that something important was wrong, but I put it down to lack of exercise.  After Thursday's fall, I knew I had to look into it.

So today Lex drove me to the doctor who thinks that the problem is in my spine.  He referred me for an MRI and to the surgeon who did my laminectomy in 2015 - and he told me not to drive.and to get a medical alert button. so I can call for help if I should fall.

So I will probably do most of my blips at home for a while, as I can't ask Lex and Doug always to be chauffeuring me.  I won't keep mentioning this here, because I know I focus on the negative things too much, but I just wanted to put it out there.  I'll let you know if anything significant occurs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.