THE SAGE

Did household chores and watched TV until it was time to get the bus to Gateshead.  I had a ticket to see " The Great Geordie Songbook " at The Sage.  It was due to start 4pm.

I went out for the bus at 3pm - the bus was due at 3.10pm.  It never came.  The next bus was due at 3.40pm.  It came at 3.42pm. There was no way I was going to get to the Sage in time.  And of course the bus hit every red traffic light on its slow journey to Gateshead.  Once off the bus I hurried down to The Sage all the while wondering whether they would let latecomers into the venue.

I needn't have worried.  I was shown to my seat no bother.  I was 10 mins late.

The show was a celebration of  local songwriters including Alan Hull (of Lindisfarne), Geordie Ridley (who wrote The Blaydon Races ), Joe Wison ( who wrote Keep Yor Feet Still Geordie Hinny ), Alex Glasgow ( who wrote the musical play Close The Coalhouse Door and scripts for the TV series When The Boat comes In ) and others. The singers and musicians who performed were excellent and there were also a couple of local comedians. A great show.  I do think anyone who wasn't local would have had difficulty understanding a lot of it as it was all performed with a Geordie accent using Geordie words.

Musical link CLOSE THE COALHOUSE DOOR By Alex Glasgow

In my Extra you can see The Millennium Bridge over the Tyne. 

Steps today - 7,855

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.