" CROSS MY PALM WITH SILVER "

Headed for Newcastle this afternoon to go to the match.  Newcastle United were playing Watford.  As I made my way to  the football ground I passed this gypsy caravan.  It used to be parked in the Bigg Market but thats undergoing renovation at the moment so its been moved to this spot outside the Grainger market. 

Would you walk up those steps to get your fortune told?.  Do you think its silly?  Or would you take it seriously?  Would you think of it as a bit of a laugh?  Personally getting my fortune told by a gypsy doesn't appeal to me at all.  But each to their own - and this caravan has been a familiar sight in Newcastle for many years so I guess Angeline Lee has a steady stream of callers. She charges £3 for kids and £5 for adults.  ( I zoomed in on the box in front of the caravan to find that its labelled  100w Uber E Scooter - Pink - just in case you wondered )  I have tagged my blip for Silly Saturday.  Thanks to admirer for hosting.

So to the match - Newcastle fans were hoping for the first win of the season. We are angry with the owner Mike Ashley who refuses to spend money on good players - he's trying to stay in the Premiership on a low budget.  He doesn't have any passion for the football club - he only cares about money.  He says he want to sell the club - but he's overpriced it so that no-one seems to want to close the deal and buy it. 

Flyers were handed out to fans before the match - see my Extra shot.  On the back of the flyer it says to hold it up in the 11th minute of the game to symbolise 11 shambolic years of Mike Ashley's ownership. However come the 11th minute I couldn't see any flyers being held up.  Thats not to say there weren't any - the crowd was around 49,000 so I'm sure some of them held their flyers up - but no-one near me did.

BUT  here's the good news  - Newcastle finally got 3 points.  At the 11th attempt  Newcastle had won their first league game of the season.  The final score was Newcastle 1 Watford 0.  The Toon fans left the ground with smiles on their faces.

After the match I shopped in Waitrose for fruit and tomatoes and I also nipped into John Lewis to kill some time before my bus was due.  Ended up buying a couple of Christmas gifts.

Feeling very sleepy this evening.   Think  its partly due to the tablets I'm taking for my itchy skin.  I wouldn't care if they were working - but they ain't.  Got a docs appointment later in the month - so we will see then what her next move is.

Steps today - 8,917

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.