KINKY BOOTS

I was fast asleep this morning when the phone rang.  It was Neil.  He was out running and didn't feel well so he wanted to come to my house as it was nearer than his own.  He didn't have his key with him so he needed to know if I was at home.  Once he knew I was he headed for here.  When he arrived he had a bite to eat and went to bed. He seemed a bit better when he got up.

We both left the house around 4pm - Neil to walk home and me to get the bus to Newcastle.  I had a ticket to see Kinky Boots at the Theatre Royal.

Kinky Boots is a Broadway musical with music and lyrics by Cyndi Lauper.  It is inspired by a true story and based on the 2005 film.  Kinky Boots tells the story of Charlie Price who has reluctantly inherited his father's Northampton shoe factory. Trying to live up to his father's legacy and save the family business from bankruptcy Charlie finds inspiration in the form of drag queen Lola - a fabulous entertainer in need of some sturdy stilettos.  Lola turns out to be the one person who can help Charlie become the man he's meant to be. The message of the musical is " accept people as they are".

I really enjoyed it.  The costumes were fabulous - especially those worn by Lola.  And all the kinky boots were amazing.

Quote from the show -  ........ "  Red is the color of sex! Burgundy is the color of hot water bottles  Red is the color of sex and fear and danger and signs that say Do. Not. Enter. All my favorite things in life."

Steps today - 7,268  ( I couldn't actually walk any steps if I was wearing red boots with 6 inch stiletto heels - but they sure do look sexy ).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.