A different day then planned....

Well with so much to do, plans changed this morning.. I took my mom on a drive out in the country where we also stopped and had a lovely breakfast. Back home and time to start going through things...

First the garage... Going through his tools and stuff.. Some went to charity and some will be kept in the family.. My dad's shelf was left untouched though and we decided it'll stay that way until my mom sells the house hopefully many years in the future... then a whole lot of little things got done.. including renting a truck to go to the dump, getting the backyard ready for winter and...  

This afternoon I sat down and went through my dad's personal drawer where he kept things he treasured. Various cards, a lot of political stuff, trinkets, and...  I was doing ok until I got to his wallet and saw his harmonicas.. The two pictures shown are of my sister and I along time ago and a picture of his mom. I will always remember the times when my dad would seem at random just start playing a harmonica..

Tomorrow my sister will head up to the funeral home to hopefully get his death certificate so we can start doing the so many other things my mom needs to have done. After that we will meet at the care home to pack up my dads things... I'm still on a roller coaster but it was nice to make some good progress today...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.