Last Stop - The Eustis Estate

Dear Diary,

I taught in Milton, Massachusetts for 28 years and passed this house every day.  Shortly after I retired in 2010, the estate was acquired by Historic New England, an organization that is dedicated to preserving architecturally significant buildings.  I, of course, enjoyed seeing this beautiful house but I'd really come to see a small exhibit of photographs by a Milton photographer, Margaret Sutermeister.  The photograph I've included, is one she did of a gypsy peddler in the late 1890's.  

Over 25 years ago, I did a short documentary for the historical society of this amazing woman's work, done between 1894 and 1909, when her long lost glass plate negatives were discovered and printed.  My copy of the documentary, which had won 3rd place in the Cable Ace Awards, was damaged years ago and I wanted to see if I could get another copy of it.  The woman I spoke to said she would look into it.  I hope I can get to see this one film I made again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.