Undercovercairo

By Undercovercairo

All in

A very typical way of travel here in Cairo!

Spent a lovely morning catching up with S, one of my good friends here whose engagement and wedding I attended last year.

On my way back to Zamalek, a greater police presence was noted, including riot police. I’m not as intimidated as I used to be by the sight of this, but sad to note it’s felt it’s needed.

I enjoyed coffee and cake in Simonds, had a massage and then went to one of my favourite fair trade shops. Unfortunately it’s only operating online now as it’s owner worked too hard! I spoke to her mother who’s helping to manage it now and we had a good chat about life in Cairo, and Egypt generally. Don’t move back she said, just come for visits. And you know what? I think she’s right.

A lazy evening in my room, much needed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.