Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Back in the Lakes

Forecast was looking good, so I put on my walking kit, had a hearty breakfast in the hotel and set off towards Pooley Bridge.

The plan was to take on Arthur's Pike and Bonscale Pike on Askham Fell.  It was a good walk to practice my navigation again, as my skills haven't been tested the past few years.  It was an excellent walk, but as you climbed the wind started to pick up and on the summit on Arthur's Pike, it was blowing really strong.  When I set off on the walk I didn't see a soul, but as I made my towards the peak I could see loads of people all over the fell.

The weather looked like it was starting to change, the cloud had slowly drifted in and covered one of the higher peaks nearby.  I decided to cut my walk short and only climb Arthur's Pike, and here is me on the summit.  Aren't the Lakes beautiful?

As I made my down from the Fell I made contact with a few of my old colleagues and popped in to catch up with them.  It's the first time they've seen me since the kidney transplant, so I was glad to report that all is well.

More adventures planned for the next few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.