SIXTIES GOLD

Mossisons this morning.  Then this afternoon I had to walk down to the village to post a parcel.  I was returning something I had bought on Ebay.  I was sent the wrong thing.  Luckily the return was free - just a bit of a hassle having to go out to post it.

Then I did a bit of sorting out ready for my trip.  No actual packing done yet.  Then I had a quick meal and then I was off out again. I had a ticket to see Sixties Gold at The Sage.

After the bus problems I had on Sunday I decided to go out earlier this time.  Yet again the bus never turned up.  Annoying thing was that I have the app on my phone where you can track the bus.  So I tracked the bus while I was standing at  my bus stop.  It said the bus was 4 mins away.   But then it never came.  So what's the point of the app when it gives you false info.  Bus rant over ( until next time ).

Anyway I got the next bus after a 20 min wait ( in the cold ) and was in time for the start of the concert.

 The acts on the bill for Sixties Gold were ....... Wayne Fontana and The Mindbenders, Steve Ellis from Love Affair, The Marmalade, The Merseybeats, and Herman's Hermits.

Unfortunately Wayne Fontana was ill and couldn't appear so we saw the Mindbenders without him.  Its hard to tell just how many original members of each group were on stage. However I think that most of The Marmalade and The Merseybeats are original members.  However the only original in Hermans Hermits is the drummer Barry Witwam.

My favourites on the night were Steve Ellis (who still has an excellent voice), The Marmalade and The Merseybeats.  Each group played all their hits from the sixties which brought back memories of those days.

My blip shot shows Steve Ellis at the top and The Mersybeats below. Not very good shots as I was up in the balcony area.

I chose 2 songs for my musical link today

EVERLASTING LOVE by Love Affair

Ob La Di Ob La Da  by The Marmalade

The concert finished around 10.20pm.  Then I had to walk to Gatehead for my bus - and wait a while for one to arrive.  I finally got home around 11.25pm.

I am too tired to make any blip comments before I head off to bed.  And today - Thursday - is another busy day so I may not have time to do much on blip.  I will make sure to look at everyone's entries though even if I don't comment.  Night night.

Steps today - 15,054

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.