PENNY

Another rainy day so I decided to stay indoors and try and get on with some more chores.  In the end I didn't get much ticked off my " to do " list. 

The Tiny Tuesday challenge hosted by dbifulco is " something old" - so I put my thinking cap on.  I remembered that when we cleared out my father in laws house after he died we found loads of old coins.  Every drawer we opened had coins inside.  We gathered up quite a collection  of different dates and denominations.  So I had a ferret through them this afternoon to find an old one.  Came up with this penny dated 1890. The monarch at the time was Queen Victoria. The coin is really worn and thin.  Just imagine how many hands have touched it over the years.

People born in 1890 include ... Charles de Gaulle. Colonel Sanders ( founder of KFC), Dwight D Eisenhower, Ho Chi Minh, Stan Laurel, Stanley Holloway and  Agatha Christie.

Musical link PENNY Arcade  by Roy Orbison

*The coin bag is from The National Provincial Bank which operated from 1833 until 1970 when it merged with the National Westminster Bank.

Steps today - 5,534

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.