Unorthodox

There’s no sign of life as I leave the AirBnb. The building has a sign affixed to it, proclaiming that it is protected from thieves and intruders. There is some suggestion that this protection is divine in nature, although the host, Jerry’s, profile suggests that he isn’t particularly confident on this point.

It’s a short walk to Temple Meads. On the train I discover that I’ve left my laptop charger somewhere - probably at the conference venue - which means I’ll have to carefully steward the 45% battery that I start with.

It’s dark and damp in Edinburgh. I stock up on stickies and carry flip charts into Informatics. Philiy and her husband, Joe, arrive early. Just as well, because there are no tables in the room that the workshop will be running in.

It’s all sorted by 6:00. 20 people come to practice running better meetings. A few of us meet in the Pear Tree, which now incorporates the pub next door (Blind Poet) too. It’s noisy, but you can just about hear people from across the table if they shout.

Finally, food at the Tanjore. There are few days that can’t be improved by a dosa.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.