Meet Louisa May Tinklepaw!

Dear Diary,

The best laid plans, etc, etc.  I had fully intended to adopt an older gentleman but came away with this young lady!  I spent an hour at the shelter but most of the older cats were not compatible with other cats (important as Auntie Rebecca wants to adopt a cat as well and she will look after Louisa May when I travel) or "hands off" types.  One sweet old boy weighed, well, A LOT, and I could barely lift him with my arthritis hands.  Rebecca and I were set to leave when the volunteer suggested we see "Clementine" who preferred a quiet space down the hall.  It was love at first sight for both of us.  The funny thing is my housekeeper, who lives across the street from me, just adopted a kitten from another shelter this week named Clementine!  Since my little girl just arrived at the shelter and was a stray, I felt fine changing it to Louisa May.  The Tinklepaw part needs a bit of explaining. 

My grandfather's family had a German line named Tinklepaugh and I always thought it would be a great name for a cat.  Rebecca suggested Louisa May after my ancestor Louisa May Alcott.  She knows how I like literary names.  After all, Emerson was named for Ralph Waldo Emerson!  So, here is little Louisa May.  A tiny bit shy but we snuggled on the couch last night watching television.  She needs some encouraging to eat as changing places stresses her a little but I  am sure she will settle in very nicely with time.  She is a real love with beautiful tortoise shell/calico markings and the most amazing yellow and green eyes!  All is right with my world now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.